Comfort Food

Yesterday I eased myself back into my much-dreaded, post-holiday work week with a fabulous lunch date at Doan’s Restaurant.   Doan’s has been serving authentic Vietnamese cuisine at two Edmonton locations for over ten years.  Lucky for me, the downtown location (10130-107 Street) is within a block of my office!  Doan’s lunch-dates have become a bit of an addiction for the girls in my office and I can vouch that we’ve never had a bad meal.

My favorite dish is Bun Tom, Bo va Heo (sadly, after ordering it countless times, I still refer to it to my servers as ‘the second one’ on the menu page).  Loosely translated, its a delicious single person vermicelli bowl served with bean sprouts, lettuce, cucumbers and carrots and topped with grilled prawns, beef and pork.  It’s $9.95 well spent!  Enjoy!

S

Leave a Reply

