Kitchen Disasters

My mother read L’s post  (A Warm Welcome to 2011! from January 1) and phoned me to make sure that I, too, am taking my lunch to work in a lunch kit.  I am proud to report that YES I brought my lunch today AND in it was homemade soup.  Other than blowing the breaker in our office kitchen while heating up the soup and melting the container because it turned out not to be microwave safe; the soup is a great success and I’d like to share the recipe:

Dill Pickle Soup

4 cups vegetable stock

1 celery stick, sliced

1/2 medium potato, cubed

1 medium carrot, shredded

3 medium dill pickles, cubed

salt and pepper to taste

freshly chopped dill weed

freshly chopped parsley

Simmer vegetable stock, celery, potato and carrot for 15 minutes.  Stir in dill pickle pieces.  Stir 1 tbsp flour into a little water and stir into soup, returning it to a simmer.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Finish the soup with dill weed and parsley.

If I can make it, anyone can!  Now… after dining in at lunch I’m off to I Love Sushi (10106-105 St) for dinner for california rolls.

S

Leave a Reply

