Wine Club…I mean Book Club

What better way to spend a frosty Edmonton winter evening than in a cozy wine bar with new friends discussing books, sipping wine and laughing… a lot.  Tonight that is just what we did.  S and I are new members of a pretty fabulous book club that meets monthly to sample local fare and discuss the latest literary pick.

For January, the book was the Princess Bride and the location was Tzin.  Tzin is a wine bar on 104 street in Edmonton with deep red walls and comfy throw pillows that line the couch-like side wall.  The beaded candle holders and dim lighting made me wonder whether a belly dancer would appear any minute, but sadly it didn’t happen.

I ordered a glass of Summerhill’s Ehrenfelser at the waiter’s suggestion (who was extremely helpful on all accounts, including his input on the book), and tapas were shared around the table.  I can’t say much about the beef and lobster dishes, but I can tell you they have some pretty delicious savoury sun dried tomato bread.

All in all, it was a fantastic way to spend the evening and I can’t wait for next month.

L

Comments
3 Responses to “Wine Club…I mean Book Club”
  1. Jody Spencer says:

    I’m perfectly happy to have a Book/Wine group…never noticed the connection before – was too busy drinking 😉

  2. Frisbee says:

    I was stalling on twitter trying to find something to cure my boredom – and KA-CHOW – somebody I follow tweeted this post. Now, I am not quite as bored. Thanks for posting great material. – Frisbee

Leave a Reply

