Nature’s bounty

I am very excited to share that I picked up my very first Organic Box yesterday!  Because I can’t guarantee someone will be home on Wednesday nights right now, I opted for the Saturday morning market pickup.  The 2 pros of this option yesterday was it made us get up and out of the house earlier and there was time to spare to stop at lululemon on Whyte ave : )

Included in this weeks box:

  • 1 apple (which I already ate on the way to boot camp)
  • 3 oranges (one is sliced and flavouring a jug of water as I type)
  • 1 mango
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 pear
  • mushrooms
  • yams
  • beets
  • butter lettuce
  • celery
  • rainbow carrots
  • 1 tomato
  • broccoli
  • bananas

Organic Box (January 15)

Everything is so brightly coloured and deliciously fresh.  I have spent the greater part of this morning planning what to do with all the contents to take advantage of their flavour and crispness.  I have to admit, I am a bit thrown off by the beats though.  Right now I am thinking they are either going to turn into a salad or a roasted side.  If anyone has any great beet recipes (I have 4 red ones) send them this way.  I promise to try to do your recipe justice (*there are no guarantees that this will happen though).

Enjoy your Sunday! We will be posting later today about our Ice on Whyte adventure last night : )

Comments
3 Responses to “Nature’s bounty”
  1. Joan says:

    Beets are one of my favourite veggies. I like to use the beet greens in place of cabbage leaves when I make cabbage rolls. I find it much, much easier to roll into compact little bundles. Tastes just as good as cabbage rolls made from cabbage, too!

    Another recipe : Beet Horseradish Relish
    Boil 12-16 medium sized beets until tender. Cool beets in cold running water, then remove skins and put the beets through a meat grinder (or shred them).
    Make a dressing of:
    3 cups vinegar
    2 cups sugar
    1/3 cup flour
    1 tsp. salt
    Mix this with the beets and one jar of horseradish (or 1 cup)
    Cook slowly until thick. Watch carefully so as not to burn. Put in sterilized jars and seal.

    • Joan says:

      I realized that perhaps I neglected to give the basic information about cooking beets. Put them in a pot of water and boil them until the beets are tender and a fork can be easily inserted into the fleshy part of the beet. This takes quite a few minutes, especially if the beets are fairly large in size. Be sure to have enough water in the pot so that the pot does not boil dry and get unsightly burn spots on the bottom!!
      Once you are sure the beets are cooked, then drain off the hot water, and add cold water. Take each cooked beet in your hand, and the skin will easily slip off. This makes a mess of your hands, but they wash easily. Then take the beets and slice them into suitable sized pieces, add a wee pat of butter if your so desire, possibly a shake of pepper, then serve. Yum…. delicious!
      At this point, if you don’t want to eat the beets, Here is another recipe (using cooked beets)
      BEET and CHEESE BARS

      Enough pie crust to fill the bottom of an 8 inch square pan, and also the top.
      Filling: 1/2 pound grated cheddar cheese
      Cooked sliced beets (about 2 cups)
      1 small onion, finely grated
      1 1/2 tsp. prepared mustard
      3 Tbsp. mayonnaise
      1/2 Tbsp. sweet green relish
      Prepare the pie crust.
      Preheat the oven to 400degrees.
      Mix together the filling.Spread the filling over the pie crust. Add the top crust. Make a hole in the top so the steam can escape. Bake for 35 – 45 minutes or until crisp and golden.
      Serve hot, warm, or cold.

      • Thanks! This is very exciting. The beets are still sitting in my fridge and I sadly didn’t realize the greens were even edible. I will know for next time : ) I think I might just cook them using your instructions. The burn spots are all too familiar to me ha-ha. Thanks again! L

Leave a Reply

