It is fun to have fun, but you have to know how

L and I are working our way through The Happiness Project by Gretchen Ruben.   Ruben discovered that she wasn’t as happy as she could be and that becoming truly happy requires a lot of effort .  The book follows her year-long journey towards  this much-coveted emotion and has inspired us to do the same.  A huge perk of the book is that the lofty goal of ultimate happiness is broken down into 12 smaller pieces; giving us a manageable set of tasks to work towards each month.

My New Years Resolution is to follow Ruben’s schedule and I am happy to report on my progress with January’s assignment of Vitality by:

1. Going To Sleep Earlier

  • Wikipedia.com states that adults need at least 7-8 hours of sleep each night.  Last year I fell into the terrible habbit of staying up late to watch The Real Housewives of O.C., falling alseep on my couch, then waking up at 3 am and going to sleep in my bed for only a few hours before I had to wake up for work.  The dark circles under my eyes were frightful.  Since January 1 I force myself to bed at 11pm and PVR the late night trash on the Slice Network.

2. Exercise Better   

  •  ParticipACTION states on their website that “more than half of Candians are considered to be inactive” and “since 1981, the percentage of Canadian females aged 20 to 39 years old,  whose body composition was ‘fair’ or ‘needing improvement’ (as measured by BMI, waist circumference and skinfold measurements) has increased sevenfold’.  Our generation is in a bit of a fitness crisis.  ParticipACTION also states that “physical activity appears to reduce the risk of over 25 chronic conditions, including coronary heart disease, stroke hypertension, breast cancer, colon cancer, type 2 diabetes and osteoperosis”.  That’s all the motiviation I need!  I renewed my gym membership and use my lunch hour for a brisk walk around the Legislature grounds.  L and I have registered for the Rocky Mountain Soap Company Women’s Half Marathon in May and ordered our Passport to Prana memberships. 

3. Toss, Restore, Organize

  • This is an easy task for me as I am a minimalist who loves to clear out clutter.  This can lead to its own set of problems as I can be hasty in purging and usually have to buy bar-b-q tools, snow shovels, scarves, mitts, etc. at the beginning of each season.  For this exercise, though, it was a breeze to clear out my closet and I was happy to take a bag of clothes to Goodwill.

4. Tackle A Nagging Task

  • Last weekend I spent a day alone in my office catching up on anything I had let slide and preparing as I head into my busier season.

5. Act More Energetic

  • I’ll admit, a couple of weeks ago I was just pretending to like working out as much as L does.  Something is changing and I don’t dread the gym as much anymore.  The results are promising so far.

Thanks for the inspiration Gretchen!  Today on her blog, she quotes Dr. Suess, who confirms her view that happiness is possible for those who work at it:

Look at me!

Look at me!

Look at me NOW!

It is fun to have fun

But you have to know how!

S

Leave a Reply

