Pink Aprons and Masala

Today after bootcamp the cauliflower from last weeks Organic Box was still staring me down when I opened the fridge so I figured enough is enough! I am going to find something to do to jazz up this bland white not so yummy vegetable (sorry to any cauliflower lovers out there).  I dont’ find the rainbow variety particularly appetizing either, but I didn’t think a plain old white one would cut it as the feature image.

I recalled seeing some great recipes over the past month on blogs so I truned to a great vegan blogger: Mama Pea.  With my pink apron tied in place and still wearing my lulus I set out to recreate her Crackling Cauliflower recipe.

Recipe Courtesy of the the Fabulous Mama Pea

  • 1 head of cauliflower, trimmed and cut into florets
  • 1 t. olive oil
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 1/2 t. curry powder
  • 1/2 t. garam masala
  • 3 T. chopped onion (I only had a red onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 t. ginger, minced
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 1 t. lemon zest (I didn’t have a lemon so I omitted this)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh cilantro for garnish (I deleted this because I don’t like it)

Preheat oven to 400
Chop cauliflower into florets. Toss with oil. Combine spices (curry powder through pepper) and toss with cauliflower until all pieces are well-coated. Place cauliflower in a baking dish (or on a jelly roll pan or cookie sheet) and cook for 25 to 30 minutes, stirring about every 10 minutes or so for even cooking. The cauliflower should be crisp-tender and golden brown when done. Place in a serving bowl and stir in Peas.

Fantastic!! Now I have a whole new Organic Box of treats to work my way through again this week.  new additions include spinach, a grapefruit and parsnips.

Happy Saturday,
L

Leave a Reply

