Om Shanti

Tonight we received our first stamps in our passports… our passports to prana that is!  S and I ventured out after work to Shanti Yoga Studio in downtown Edmonton.  The studio itself is pretty much like any other yoga room with tiny candles lining the window sills and row after row of yoga mats on the laminate floor.  The room was not heated, but the 20+ bodies in the room made it feel slightly warmer than normal.

Our choice for the day – Ashtanga.  The instructor talked quite a lot about the postures and the experience of your body in each of them.  Alignment seemed to be the focus and pushing your body to that comfortable uncomfortableness.  Trying out new studios and new teachers opens you up to a whole new yoga.  I tend to get stuck in a pattern of the same classes, same instructor, same spot on the floor.  I have to admit, it was nice to learn more technique in a beginner style class and not feel pushed to bend deeper and stretch farther by the more advanced yogis in the room.

Somedays my yoga self feels a lot more like this : )

We also spent what seemed like an eternity in Savasana.  I find this is the most challenging pose in any yoga class.  I know there are people out there who swear by it, but I struggle to calm my mind and the thoughts whir in and out of my head faster that a strobe light.  It always reminds me of Eat Pray Love when Elizabeth tried to meditate and ended up storming off with frustration.  If I could, I would storm out of Savasana sometimes.  Case in point: when the guy beside me started to doze off and semi-snore I thought about giving him a quick elbow to make him stop.

The following quote pretty much sums it up:

When I ask my mind to rest into stillness, it is astonishing how quickly it will turn (1) bored, (2) angry, (2) depressed, (4) anxious or (5) all of the above.

My hope as we take our yoga passports on their journey, is that I will become just a little more mindful and a little more patient!  In other yoga news, I plan to make the mini trek out to St. Albert this weekend to visit Mint Yoga & Athletic Wear.  I came across it as the ‘Store of the Month’ on Skyler.  I will post a full recap here!

TGIF Beautifuls!!

 

Leave a Reply

