Leaving on a jet plane

Sorry for the lack of posting this week.  It has been one of those pivotal times in life when you realise you need to step into your adult shoes.  My grandma passed away in the early hours of Tuesday, and I was the first to hear the news from my dad’s cousin.  I quickly decided that I would like to attend the funeral, which I know you are thinking is a no-brainer, but it does involve traveling to the UK.

So I made last-minute travel plans and started making lists.  Lists of what to bring, envelopes with my travel docs, lists of who to tell etc. I find lists calming, I think I get that need to have everything and everyone organized from my mother.  I get the desire to retreat into my own bubble from my father (I am not a huggy girl).  I talked to some of my coworkers about it and we all agreed that the loss of the last grandparent is quite a life event.  The one where  your own parents become the elders, and you in effect take on the role that they have always been to you.

I leave early Saturday for a whirlwind, jet-lagged and emotional week.  I hope there are good memories that come from it too, none the least of which is I have actually never travelled to Scotland with my dad.  My mom and I have been there quite a few times together, but never my dad.  Should be interesting.   I will try to post on Twitter if I can… it’s on my list to sort out international texts with Telus today.

Take care.
L

Comments
One Response to “Leaving on a jet plane”
  1. Joan says:

    Sorry to hear about your Grandma. Hope everything about your trip goes smoothly.

Leave a Reply

