It’s all about the shoes

I love shoes.  So much so, that they have began to take over much of the closet space in the condo from entryways, to bedroom closets and behind the door wall hangers.  To me, they are the icing on the cake of an otherwise bland ensemble, they express your mood for the day and shopping for shoes rarely lets you down (like say bikini shopping can).

As unhealthy as it may be, shopping for shoes is like therapy to me.  The perfect new pair of shoes for an event can put me at ease about everything else, like all is right with the world again as long as the shoes look great.

You can imagine my excitement when a coworker mentioned Shoedazzle to me.  Shoe what? I implored, wanting all the details of how I could get a monthly gift of shoes.  It’s easy, she replied, you create an account by answering a few style questions and pay a monthly membership to have a shoe selection emailed to you at the beginning of every month.

I quickly googled the site and answered the questionnaire about my preferences for flats vs. heels, metallic vs. matte and a lot of other cutesy questions.  This took me to a page of shoes selected just for me! I poured through all the styles marvelling at how they seemed to have figured me out to a tee.  And so it began, my monthly membership to the world of shoes!  If you want to take the quiz and see what Shoedazzle is all about, you can follow my link here

While I probably won’t remain a member forever, for $39 a month it seems reasonable at the moment and I have made a commitment to donate a pari of gently used shoes as my new selections arrive.  And, in my quest to become much better at budgeting I now have monthly budget line on Mint.com for shoes (note: this also requires diligence to not cheat on Shoedazzle in the aisles of Winners which I will freely admit is one of my favourite pastimes).  It will also help with buyer’s remorse, like when you stare at the new pair of boots you purchased in exchange for eating peanut butter sandwiches until the end of the month.  After all, one of the best SATC quotes was probably this one:

But I rationalized that my new shoes shouldn’t be punished just because I can’t budget (Carrie Bradshaw)

The iconic blue satin Manolo Blahnik shoes

 

Leave a Reply

