Bikini Season

Karena and Katrina from Tone It Up

Its hard to believe when I look out my window and see the dreaded snowdrifts, but summer is (hopefully) on its way and L and I are motivated by our fitness inspiration – Karena and Katrina from Tone It Up to get ready for bikini season.  My lackluster performance last Sunday at the St Patrick’s Day 10k Run/Walk in support of the Youth Emergency Shelter demonstrated how badly I need to step up my personal fitness and wellness plans.   Amazing photos of Karena and Katrina are powerful motivators to get moving and  eat better.   This week Tone It Up started their Spring Into Bikini Season – 8 weeks of workout videos and tips to keep you on track and focused on the goal of a fabulous beach body this summer. 

My first step towards being a bikini supermodel (haha) is to eat better.  I have been justifying my daily trips to Tim Horton’s for a cafe mocha because it seemed the proper patriotic thing to do was to jump on the Roll up the Rim band wagon.  It became a bit of an addiction and must stop immediately.  To break the mocha habit, I found this recipe for Tropical Fruit Salad on www.1001recipe.com and can confirm that it tastes as good as it looks.

Tropical Fruit Salad

Strawberry: 1 lb
Blackberry: 1/4 lb
Mango: 1
Lime: 1
Mint
Sugar

Remove stems from strawberries and cut in half.  Peel and cube the mango.  Gently mix strawberries, mango pieces and blackberries.  Squeeze a lime on top, sprinkle some sugar and add a hint of mint. 

Tomorrow I am heading to Spin Class at 6:15 at the brand new Terwillegar Community Recreation Centre as my second step towards looking and feeling like Katrina and Karena.  I’m also impressed by their golden tans but am a bit worried about the long-term health implications of tanning beds; so  I’m going to check out spray tanning.  I’ll keep you posted.

S

Leave a Reply

