Over the top swap

I am not one to hoard clothes.  I don’t have sweaters I wore in grade 10 or soccer jerseys as mementos.  My mom donated my grad dresses to charities years ago and I couldn’t be happier about it.  So this year as I went through my closet arranging clothes into never worn, sometimes worn, and what was I thinking when I bought that! piles, I was thrilled to hear about the second annual Over the Top Swap, Edmonton’s only city-wide clothing swap.


What is a fashion swap?
A fashion swap is a fun, fashionable and affordable way to update your wardrobe without spending all the cash. Swapping involves the simple act of exchanging quality, but rarely worn garments for “swap tokens” which you use the “buy” a “new to you” wardrobe. Swapping not only saves you money, it saves resources and waste. Collectively helping all of us use less while still enjoying all of the benefits of “new”.

What to Swap
When you are spring cleaning gather up 6-12 great items including handbags, scarves, hats and other accessories.  Remember, what is old season to you will be a gem for someone else!  Here are the guidelines for swappable items:

  • Items that are new (with tags on)
  • Worn once or twice (almost new)
  • Gently worn (looks and feels like new)
  • Fashionable garments (current styles and trends).
  • Quality garments

Where and When to Swap?
The second annual swap will be held at Telus Field on April 30 and May 1! In between swaps you can visit the spa, the Handmade Mafia marketplace, have glamour photos snapped, and visit with old and new friends.

The items that aren’t swapped will be donated to the Canadian Diabetes Association and the Bissell Centre to support those in need.  Bissell Centre is a non-profit organization, and relies on the generosity of others to keep delivering the wonderful programs and services the offer such as the Community Closet, which  provides the basic essentials of clothing and household goods to low-income families at no charge.

So, what are you waiting for! Get sorting through those closets and hurry over and get your early bird tickets here! More info on the passes available for the event can also be found here

Hope to see you there!!!

Comments
5 Responses to “Over the top swap”
  1. YAY!!! I’m going to try my BEST to go & I’ll be passing this on to my GRLZ! Thanks so much for posting this!
    LuvBFC

  2. FYI: I just registered for the early bird drop-off (siteing Two and the City as my referral source ❤ ) … texted my BFF the link… and am now wandering the house for my re-gifting treasures!!! Gitty with excitement… thanks for sharing! (also just subscribed to you GRLZ)
    LuvBFC

  3. Donloree says:

    I will be there with bells on!! I still have tokens from the first one!! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] clean those closets and up-cycle, donate or prepare to swap your items at the Over the Top Swap! Me and S will be making an early donation and signing labels for our readers.  Watch this space […]



Leave a Reply

