And one and two and three and…

Do you remember about 10 years ago or so when Windsor Pilates was all the rage on the infomercial scene. I do. I bought the DVDs and did the workouts about 4 times before they were relegated to the back of the closet with other oldies like Tae Bo (and newer embarrassments like the Pussy Cat Dolls workout but that is a story for another post).

Recently Pilates has been getting a lot of press again, due partly to quotes from a certain Middleton that the method is what got her um, assets, so sculpted for the big day.  My old hairdresser swore by it too and insisted I try out a class at Integration Pilates.   I decided to reintroduce Pilates this time around for a different reason; a running injury that won’t go away but rather insists on taking centre stage on any distance over 10km.  I also decided that this first attempt was better saved for the privacy of our condo versus a class setting.

I stumbled upon Blogilates a couple of days ago when I was researching the pilates/running link and was very impressed with the videos.
So today, being a scheduled rest day, I decided it was a good time to try it out.  Note: despite being a relatively fit person I was humbled by my inability to complete the leg circles because of the intensity of the burning. I am not exaggerating even a little.  Clearly I have work to do!

A few other spots to test out a Pilates class in Edmonton:

I am off to shower and apply some more deep freeze to my leg in hopes that it heals up by Wednesday! Please let me know where you practice Pilates or if you have a story to share about how it helped you with an injury.

Happy Monday
L

 

Comments
2 Responses to “And one and two and three and…”
  1. Pilates changed my body! I loved it so much I taught mat classes for about 7 years. Tracy at Integration is such an amazing teacher, too : )

Leave a Reply

