What’s in your makeup bag?

This past week I have been on a quest to buy new eyeshadow.  This was partly necessitated by the oddity of 3 of my favourite MAC eyeshadows shattering in 1 week.  As I tossed the shimmery remnants of naked lunch into the bin, I decided now was as good a time as ever to begin a much-needed overhaul and de-cluttering of my makeup train case.  I am not entirely sure how the mascaras accumulate so quickly, I blame marketing and the lure of lush lashes and the fact that none of them ever seem to be just perfect (despite hours of reading Sephora reviews).

So I am turning over a new leaf.  In a bid to reduce exposure to toxins and needless purchases from here on in I am:

  • Making informed decisions based on what goes into what I put on my skin, and
  • Instituting a new policy of using up ALL of a product before I can try something new.
As a starting point I took a leisurely stroll to Carbon at lunch to see what they had in store and left with this little dandy:
That is my first NVEY eyeshadow #151 and at 20% off too! While I missed the whimsical names of the products, I won’t miss all the harmful additives.
Things you should know about cosmetics:

Fun Fact: we absorb 60 percent of what we put onto our skin. And, according to the Organic Consumers Association, the average woman absorbs five pounds of toxic chemicals each year just from her beauty products. Cosmetics are full of harmful additives and chemicals that are, essentially, going directly into your body.  And this include lead. It is estimated that women eat 9 pounds of lipstick over their lifetimes, just by licking their lips. Gross not me, I can’t stand the stuff.   However, I probably will get closer to 15 lbs in C.O. Bigelow’s Mentha Lip Tint. I should really read the label.

What’s a girl (or guy) to do?

Become a label reader.  I know, it’s a pain but it’s your health we are taking about! These chemicals are known to cause cancer, interfere with hormone production, cause liver damage and in some cases neurotoxicity.   Here is a list of the “Dirty Dozen” that you should avoid:

  1. BHA & BHT
  2. Coal tar dyes
  3. Cyclomethicone & Siloxanes
  4. DEA, MEA & TEA
  5. Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  6. Formaldehyde releasing preservatives (DMDM hydantoin, diazolidinyl and others)
  7. Parabens
  8. Parfum
  9. PEG
  10. Petrolatum
  11. sodium laureth & sodium lauryl sulfate
  12. Triclosan

To make shopping easier, you can download your own cheat sheet  to bring with you.  This one was prodcued by the David Suzuki Foundation and raises some significant environmental concerns as well.

Other places to shop: Planet Organic, Optimum Health, Most higher end spas, and even London Drug carries Lavera & Bloom.

Happy Shopping! Let us know if you have a favourite brand or must have item in your makeup case that you want to tell us about.

L

Comments
2 Responses to “What’s in your makeup bag?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] My new NVEY eyeshadow that I posted about here.  I am so tempted to go back and snap up a few more while there are still on […]

  2. […] – in line with my goals to move towards a less chemically-laden make-up bag which I talked about here, I decided to make the switch to a mineral based foundation.  A group deal made it an even more […]



Leave a Reply

