Par for the Course

I am developing an appreciation (or obsession) for golf.  I spent the majority of this weekend glued to my TV watching The Open Championship and dream of playing like today’s champ Darren Clark. (Actually, I dream of shooting less than 120 on 18 holes.)   Last week I golfed with my Dad who is a exceptional player.  I’m sure our game was the ultimate test of his patience.  He has been very disappointed with the amount of times I hit the links during the past few summers.  He tried everything to get me to take up the sport and even went so far as to point out that golf courses are good places to meet men! 

Dad and I.

As a beginner golfer, the Victoria Golf Course is quickly becoming one of my favorites.  It is:

  • Canada’s oldest city-run course. First developed in 1896, before the City of Edmonton was founded, Victoria’s fairways and greens are somewhat forgiving – ideal for beginners or mid-handicap players. Victoria’s prime river valley location offers an excellent backdrop of the Alberta Legislature and University of Alberta buildings.

Victoria is perfect for a new golfer.   It is a reasonable length at 6027 yards and par 71.  Something else I plan to check out is a Fitness for Golf Class on Wednesday evenings at the MacEwan Sport and Wellness Centre.  I have to do something quick to improve my score because I just heard that my golf buddy is in Edmonton this week and I confess; I have been exaggerating how well I have been playing.  I hope this goes better than our poker showdown a few months ago!

One of the reasons for my fascination with golf is my crush on Rickie Fowler.   I’m excited to watch him play in Vancouver this week at the RBC Canadian Open.  Like teenage girls around the world; I find that his outragous outfits and Modern Golf Personified  line of golf wear make the sport fun to watch. 

I’m heading to the driving range right now!

S

Leave a Reply

