Yoga + Running = bliss

What better way to kick off the weekend with a yoga class? How about a power yoga class??

F’Awesome Free Fridays have been going on for quite a while now, but if you attend any Friday class at Lions Breath it’s FREE! Yes Free!!
(**Recommended donation of cash or Food Bank)

This is kind of a follow-up to my Marathoner in training post.  I realized this week that I have fallen sorely behind on cross-training.  Apart from the odd boot camp class at Healthy Rhino here and there, a poor attempt at pilates and some river valley mountain bike rides, I really haven’t been doing much but running.  And my hamstrings told me so at yoga.  More like screamed at me.

Once again I am humbled by my yoga mat and the inflexibility my lack of attention to it has resulted in.  Note: you may want to ease back into yoga and not attend an R&B or Dynamic Flow class, or be less like me and accept the fact that you may not be as limber as you were back in April.  Yes it has been that long.

This Yoga Journal article eloquently explains the benefits of yoga for runners

Although yoga and running lie on opposite ends of the exercise spectrum, the two need not be mutually exclusive. In fact, running and yoga make a good marriage of strength and flexibility.

I have been having hip pain off and on for a while now, and regularly see my physiotherapist for ART and strengthening exercises.  There are a lot of yoga poses that also help get deep into the piriformis to stretch it out.  Pigeon pose and me have a love hate relationship right now, second only to the one I have with my foam roller.

Regardless of whether you are injured or not, yoga will greatly benefit your running (as long as you don’t overdo it and listen to your body).  What better way to dip your toes in the yoga world than a free class (+ the benefit of doing good in our community).

Happy Friday!
L

Comments
One Response to “Yoga + Running = bliss”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Yoga + Running = bliss (twoandthecity.com) […]



Leave a Reply

