Wanderlust

Last November, J and I took and amazing trip to Thailand and Laos.  While it took me a while to get accustomed to the smells and fear of all thing creepy crawly, I loved that trip.  Backpack and all, it showed me that I could do things that made me uncomfortable, and more importantly that all adventures have ups and downs.  Miraculously, after a month or two it’s the amazing times you remember (except for maybe one occasion when a rat paid us a visit during dinner).

Needless to say, after 8 months with only 2 days off (to visit baby G in Winnipeg) I have been itching for a vacation.  I was over the moon when we finally settled on Peru as a destination.  I booked vacation time from work; I bought travel books; I made vegan-friendly travel tips; and I began to think about what one should pack for a vacation in Peru. 

Then sadly, last week something came up at J’s work and dreams of Peru vanished just as quickly as they arrived.  Fortunately, we had not purchased our flights yet so all is not lost.  Facing months until we could vacation together, I have decided to take matters into my own hands and in October, I will be traveling… solo. 

I have travelled on my own in the past but usually met up with friends.  I moved across the ocean to take a job, I spent Christmas in Munich and I walked the streets of London on my own, so really the thought of a vacation should be exciting.  But I have no idea where to go?

What are the best locales for October? Where would a woman be safest to travel solo?  How far do I want to go? So far, I have a couple of options:

  • Visit friends in Scotland/England  (been there done that but it could be fun)
  • Travel to Berlin to visit some friends
  • Some kind of yoga/wellness retreat
  • Try a group tour somewhere warm and exotic…

The parameters are: 16 days total, I don’t want to sleep in a bunk or a tent, I can backpack (kind of high-maintenance but still… it’s with a backpack), and I can’t do beach vacations.  We tried once and I went stir crazy and had to leave the island haha.

Please share your thoughts and ideas! It would be awesome to hear some firsthand experiences.
L

Comments
2 Responses to “Wanderlust”
  1. LOL no. It’s to avoid Thanksgiving turkeys hahaha : )

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] can’t wait! L schedules a trip for October each year – I think its because she knows she would be decorating pumkins all […]



Leave a Reply

